The Fear of Missing Out… Fomo

 The Fear of Missing Out… Fomo

By Eric Dahlinger

FO·MO
ˈfōmō/
noun
  1. anxiety that an exciting or interesting event may currently be happening elsewhere, often aroused by posts seen on a social media website.
    “I realized I was a lifelong sufferer of FOMO”

The fear of missing out… also known as fomo, is possibly the worst feeling I have ever had.  When I had room mates I used to get so jealous if I heard one of them leave the apartment with out me.  I’d be like ‘why aren’t you inviting me?’ or ‘where the hell are you going with out me’… of course this was only in my head.  It’s also funny because a lot of the time things that I don’t get invited to I wouldn’t want to go to anyways… but I still want to be invited. Because of this, I can usually talk my self of the ledge. Also social media still plays games with me, I have unfollowed people because their lives just seem so much more interesting then mine, and it makes me so jealous… Instagram is probably the worst for this.  But you know what they say about social media, you are just comparing your real life to someone’s highlight reel.   That is the double edge sword of FOMO and social media… as much as we hate it when we feel it, we love to do it to others, we all want to post pictures from our fun nights out, our fun vacations, and expensive shopping trips.  We as a society love to make our selves feel better by leaving others out and advertising how amazing our lives are (in comparison)… I’m guilty of it and I probably won’t stop, I love bragging about the good times (but so do you, don’t lie).  But it’s good to have this in mind as we live through the social media age, knowing helps you rationalize it with yourself when you feel the affects of fomo.

 

Sorry no major tips or tricks with this one, just a plain look at the situation.

 

via Daily Prompt: Missing

Leave a Reply

