Some Holiday Music I Treasure

Some Holiday Music I Treasure

 By Eric Dahlinger

Well the holidays are truly upon us, so I thought I would let you know three of the hidden gems of Christmas music I love to listen too this time of year.  I love the classics like Michael Buble, Bing Crosby, and the queen of Christmas Mariah Carey, but here are some less famous versions of some Christmas songs.

Santa Tell Me– Ariana Grande

Ariana has put out two Christmas EP’s and yet this song is on neither, it was just realised as a single in 2014.  I first heard it a work and it makes me smile every single time it comes on.  Her voice is amazing and very healthy sounding.  Its bubble gum pop at its best… nothing serious, but who wants serious at Christmas.

I Saw Three Ships – Sonos

It can be found on the Album December Song. It is actually a classic Christmas song with a fun pop spin to it.  The song was originally published in the 17th century and there are some amazing classical covers of it, but I like that this one is updated without tarnishing the original.

Santa Baby– The Pussycat Dolls

I still love the Pussycat Dolls with all my heart, and back in there hay day (2007-2010) I was their biggest fan… In fact I performed When I Grow Up for a school project.  In 2008 they recorded Santa Baby and released on the compilation CD Now Christmas 3.  There so many reasons why I love this version.  First, It’s a nice little flash back to when the Pussycat Dolls were a burlesques group, emulating Marilyn Monroe, Jane Russell, and Mitzi Gaynor, there choreography was openly inspired by Bob Fosse.  Secondly, I love that the lead vocals are sung by Carmit Bachar, Ashley Roberts, and Jessica Sutta, and not Nicole Scherzinger.  It is nice to hear the other dolls voices, plus I find their voices lend better to the old Hollywood feel that the track is going for.  And Finely, the original song is both sexy and comical, which is always a good mix.  And there is a live performance where Carmen Electra (who was a Pussycat Doll at a time) sings Bachar’s part.  There is also a full Nicole live performance… but I don’t like it as much.

Bounces Track… My Only Wish (This Year)- Britney Spears

via Daily Prompt: Treasure

Leave a Reply

